About Us


The Montana Association of Behavior Analysis was established under the leadership of Dr. Cheryl Young-Pelton in November of 2013. MTABA's original members met for the first time in October and status as an affiliate chapter of ABAI was approved in November of 2013. Here is a link to Montana's ABAI Affiliate Page. In October of 2020, MTABA became an affiliate of the Association of Professional Behavior Analysts (APBA)


During the 2017 Montana legislative session (as seen below), Senate Bill 193 added the governance of behavior analysts and assistant behavior analysts to the Board of Psychologists.  Here is a link to Montana's Board of Psychologists page.

Sigining of Bill


Ania Young, President 2020-2022

Traci Shinabarger, President-Elect 2018-2020

Karlyn Gibbs, Member at large 2020-TBD

Shelley Burbank, Member at large 2020-TBD

Brett Gilleo, Member at large 2018-TBD

Autumn Kostka, Treasurer 2019-TBD

Bradley Tiefenthaler, Secretary 2019-TBD

Lorri Coulter, Past President 2018-2020


Check out what we are doing today!